Trick-or-Treat Bag

No need to go into gory details… but don’t let anyone tell you that a baby will adjust to your lifestyle! Let’s just leave it at – it’s been almost 2 years since my last post.

In the last few months I’ve finally gotten back into the swing of all things fabric and crafty, so I have lots to share with you! With Halloween just around the corner I wanted to make sure my little man won’t have to collect candy in an old pillowcase or a plastic pumpkin. When I was a kid, my mom made me a kick-ass trick-or-treat bag with dangling witch legs, so I obviously must do the same for my own child.

Over the summer, I found this amazing dragon/bat fabric by Cloud9. As I was watching them cut my yard, it hit me that this was the perfect fabric for a Halloween creation.

I tried to mimic the dragon in the print by adding eyes, teeth, and spikes. The eyes and teeth are felt, the eyebrows are made from a furry trim I got at JoAnn’s, and the spikes are Kona Chartreuse to match the dragons. The inside is lined with solid black, so that the candy “disappears” when you toss it in. The handles are up-cycled from a free conference tote my father-in-law was going to trash.

Even though he has no clue what it’s for, I guess my boy likes it (that expression is ecstatic for my serious child). I’m hoping we can make it around our entire cul-de-sac on Halloween, which translates to 11 pieces of candy.

One thought on “Trick-or-Treat Bag

  1. I also made a trick or treat bag with witch legs hanging from the bottom for my daughter and now want to make one for my granddaughter, but need a pattern.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.