time for a safari adventure

This quilt encompasses two firsts, it’s my first “deadline” quilt and my first “commissioned” quilt. My friend gifted it at her friend’s baby shower over the weekend, and I finished with just enough time to take pictures! I think the front is adorable… simple, but cute. The green swirls go perfectly with the jungle print, and it’s even more fun that my friend picked out the fabrics. I’m happy that I chose to frame the animal print panels instead of cutting into the fabric and mixing it up with the others.

junglequilt

The fabrics are Michael Miller Zoology & Beatrice, Robert Kaufman Carnaby Street, and Kona white & black.  It’s quilted with white thread in horizontal and vertical lines through the white sashing and in black thread around the black borders. I’m glad that I blended the quilting threads into the front or I think it would have taken away from the animal panels. The final size is 37.5″ x 46″.

jungleback

The design for the back came about as I tried to figure out a way to incorporate all the extra fabric. I didn’t have a single scrap of the green left over, and I was able to use up all of the animal print and the black solid. I’m not sure that I like that you can only sometimes see the quilted lines depending on the thread/fabric color combination.

2 thoughts on “time for a safari adventure

Leave a Reply

