blogger quilt festival – part deux

The first baby shower was in December, there was another in February, and then the little guy was born last week. So obviously I needed to get this done ASAP since I missed all my other deadlines. His name is Finn, how adorable and Gleeky is that đŸ˜‰

I finished the top super fast, but I was really stuck on the back. I made the blocks, then  just couldn’t figure out how to arrange them or what color to sash them in. I’m learning how important inspiration is and that if I love what I’m creating then it’s easy for me to find time to work on the project.

All print fabrics are Denise Schmidt Hope Valley. My favorites are the blues, greens, and greys, so those became the focus on the back. The “white” is Kona Natural, and the binding is Kona Coal with a smidge of Cactus Calico Piney Woods snuck in. It’s quilted with random straight lines like my pinwheel quilt. The finished size is 36″ x 49″.

I really love how colorful it is without being gaudy or too bright. Can’t wait for a picture of the little guy lounging on his new quilt. I was completely inspired by these beauties by two of my favorite quilters: patchwork squares and scrap border.

Go check out all the other amazing quilts!

22 thoughts on “blogger quilt festival – part deux

  1. Ah, lovely! Very straightforward design, but such an awesome end result. I’m just finishing my Hope Valley quilt, too. Will post tomorrow. Aren’t the fabrics great?!

  2. It’s beautiful! I think that the Hope Valley prints work together better than just about any other fabric line.

    Also, this is the most reversible quilt I’ve seen in a long time…the back is truly as well composed as the front!

  3. What a great quilt! I love the front, and then when I saw the back, I fell in love with it too! What a great inspiration for future quilts…..

  4. Wow…front and back are beautiful! Hm…it may be hard to choose which side to use :o) I love the scrappy fabrics.

    Blessings & Aloha!
    (I am hopping over from the Quilt Festival…hope you get a chance to stop by :o) Also…as a novice quilter…I am taking this opportunity to ask quilter’s what type of sewing machine do you use? )

  5. Very pretty – both front and back! Love the quilting as well, so modern and fun!
    I would have a hard time giving away a beautiful quilt like this… I think this is s a very nice pattern for the lovely line from one of my favorite designer.
    ; )
    Thank you for your nice visit!

Leave a Reply

