the awesomest ride on the block

Apparently, since I now have the ability to do so, nothing is good enough without my customizing it. Our little guy’s stroller is the limited edition Bugaboo Chameleon Ocean, yet I immediately wanted to make it unique. And what’s better than discovering that the Echino fabric you have in your stash matches perfectly, and is fit for a boy?!? There’s a million ways to approach this sewing project, but I decided to just cover the existing canopy so I wouldn’t have to line it or make the interior slip pockets for the plastic structure pieces.

Here are the basic steps for how to make the canopy cover.

Step one:  trace the two canopy panels onto the fabric of your choice leaving ample (minimum of 1 inch) allowance for errors and cut them out.

Step two:  pin the two pieces wrong sides together, set on top of taut canopy, then re-pin the major seam till perfect.

Step three:  sew the major seam , iron the seam open, and set right side out on top of canopy.

Step four:  turn under the extra fabric along the raw edges, pull taut, and pin to the canopy edging.

Step five:  sew all the way around the exterior, making sure to only sew through the edging.

It sounds like a quick sew, but of course it took me quite awhile. I love the final look even though it’s not perfect. I can’t wait to take him out for a stroll!

5 thoughts on “the awesomest ride on the block

  1. This is fantastic. My husband and I picked out a stroller we really like but it only comes in plain black or red. I was not so excited to get the black one but now i can make a canopy cover so that it’s no longer a boring plain stroller. thanks for the inspiration!

  2. About how much fabric did you end up using for this project? I’m planning on getting mine started this weekend!

    • I’m pretty sure it was a 1 yard cut and the two panels just fit. To be safe I would use at least a 1.5 yard piece, maybe even bigger if it’s a different stroller. Good luck! I’d love to see a picture when you finish 🙂

Leave a comment